19 July 2010

    Viva Espana

    Spain, the World Cup 2010 champion.

    At last, what is done is done. All questions on who will win the world cup have been finally answered. Who would have thought the Spanish team would lift the world cup, thus creating the history as the country to win its first world cup.

    South Africa became the first country ever to host this prestigious and glamorous event. Every four years, players representing their country aim for one goal, the world cup. It is the time where stars are born, and also some would fade. Some say, this is the time where many shocks and surprises happened. Which is true actually. The lights of star players like Ronaldo, Rooney, Gerrard, Lampard, Anelka, which most of the top players in the EPL fail to even make it through to the semi finals. Among the favorites were France, which fail to even make it to the second round and at the same time hit with great criticism. England, which do make it to the second round, lost to the young-German squad, 4-1!. Its 4-2 by-the-way. Also, the 2006 champion Italy, also fails to make it to the second round. Argentina, with the light of players like Messi, Tevez, Higuain, Rodriguez, Mascherano, Milito, Veron and Demichelis, share the same fate as they lost 4-0 to German in the quarterfinals. Same with the Brazillians, which lost to the Oranje 2-1 in the quarters. At last, it was the Spanish that emerge as the 18th edition of the world cup. The squad, which in the finals, its starting eleven consist of 7 players who played for Barcelona and 3 players for Real Madrid, put up a consistent play against the Dutch, so as the Dutch themselves. And at last, it was Iniesta who slot the ball at the back of the net.

    Perhaps, this is history in the making, which is already written in the history books.

    Next stop, Brazil 2014!


    Related Posts with Thumbnails